A Fairy-tale about Kolobok – script for a puppet-show

An amazing fairy-tale about Kolobok

and the Magic Flower

(FOR CHILDREN FROM LITTLE ONES UP TO TEENS)

a play based on the motives of a Russian folk fairy-tale

by Yelena Mikheyeva and Elvira Ahtyamova

Kolobok* – is a personage of a Russian fairy tale. It is made of bread-stuff and it looks like a ball with a face.

The fairy-tale was shown on the stage as a puppet-show by Kazan Sahaja-Yogis, Russia

Scene 1

(The sun is shining brightly in the blue sky. There is a birch grove, a small village in a distance a bush of roses is seen on the foreground.)

Kolobok (sings):

I go and I sing,

the sun shines in the sky.

what a beautiful thing

to live in the wide world !

if I meet someone

on a wood path,

we’ll be friends and I shall go

to search for new friends.

(He stops near a rose bush).

– Ah, what a beautiful bush! If I want to get friends, that means I should like them. And how shall I like them? Now I shall tear these flowers and I shall give them to everyone I’ll meet, and nobody will refuse from my gift and will be a friend of mine. (Tries to tear a flower off).

Rose Bush:

– Ah, don’t touch me!

Kolobok:

– What is this? (He tries to tear the flowers off again)

Rose Bush:

– What are you doing ? Don’t touch my roses!

Kolobok:

– Who is speaking? There is nobody nearby.

Rose Bush:

It’s me, the Rose Bush. Don’t break me, it hurts me. I am growing here at the road and showing my beauty to passers-by. And the broken flowers will wither quickly and will not give anybody a lot of joy.

Kolobok:

Nonsense! I need your flowers! (he tries to tear a flower off again, and the rose bush hurts Kolobok with his thorn). Oh! (Kolobok cries). What is it? So beautiful and so prickly! How shall I find friends now?

If I have nothing, nobody will want to be friends with me …

Rose Bush:

– What strange thoughts! Do you really think that you get friends in exchange for something – for a sweet or for something else?

Kolobok:

– Certainly.

Rose Bush:

– Remember, true friendship arises only when love and kindness reign in your soul, to everything that surrounds you. And you become like a fine flower growing on our earth. This flower which grows in you, such tender and fragrant, such pleasant, that everyone who surrounds you is attracted by it and becomes a similar flower.

Kolobok:

– Oh ! You speak so charmingly! How can I become such a flower?

Rose Bush:

– Look around. Look, this world is so beautiful, look at the sun and at the sky. If you want to awake this fine flower inside you have to ask for it. And just feel how your heart is filled with love and joy.

Kolobok:

– The flower of love and good, please blossom in my heart and reveal yourself above my head !

(Sounds of music, another rose flower rises above Kolobok’s head).

Kolobok:

– Wow! I feel something growing inside me and growing so highly. Yes, that is the beautiful flower! Thank you, rose bush! Now I know what can I present everyone who I’ll meet with. Good-bye! (He goes away, sings a song).

Scene 2

(A bear is sitting and holding his hand on his stomach; the song of a greedy Bear is sounding).

Kolobok:

– Hello!!!

Bear (angrily):

– What do you want here?

Kolobok:

– Bear, why are you so rough?

Bear:

– Don’t annoy me, my stomach aches.

Kolobok:

– What is the cause of this pain? Probably, you have overeaten raspberries?

Bear :

– My Raspberry! All the raspberry in the forest is mine!

Kolobok:

– Or may be you have overeaten honey? 

Bear:

– My honey! All the honey in beehives is mine! And everything that grows in the forest is mine, too!

Kolobok:

– Bear, for what do you need so much individually?

Bear:

– I need the more the better! I’m greedy!

Kolobok:

– And that is why you have pain in your stomach! And do you ever feel content and satisfaction?

Bear (regretfully):

– Never.

Kolobok:

– If you want, I shall help you? You will enjoy everything you have and will share with others.

Bear:

– How is it?

Kolobok:

– It is very simple. Look around, what beautiful trees and flowers there are, look at yourself, you are beautiful too. You are like one of these flowers growing on this glade. If you want to awake this fine flower inside – you just have to ask for it.

Bear:

– The flower of love and good, please blossom in my heart and reveal yourself above my head! Oh, Kolobok! What is it with me? Suddenly I have felt so good! And my stomach does not hurt any more. As if I blossom more and more.

(Sounds of music, a rose flower rises above the Bear’s head).

Bear:

– Thank you, Kolobok! Help yourself with honey!

Kolobok:

– Thank you.

Bear:

– Now I shall go to the forest and pick up raspberries for
  everybody (He leaves).

Scene 3

(Kolobok is sitting and eating honey. A Hare is coming. It fearfully moves back behind the bush. A song of a cowardly Hare is sounding. It stumbles over Kolobok).

Together:

– Oh!, oh!, oh!!

Kolobok:

– Who is here?

Hare (having hidden):

– And who are you? Won’t you offend me? Won’t you eat me?
Won’t you bite me ?

Kolobok:

– Who are you ?

Hare (shyly):

It’s me, – h-h-hare.

Kolobok:

– And what is the matter with you?

Hare:

– I am afraid.

Kolobok:

– What are you afraid of?

Hare:

– I am afraid of everything: as the grass rustles – I am afraid, as stick cracks – I am afraid, as the wind howls – I am afraid … oh … (The Hare shivers).

Kolobok:

– Well … it is difficult for you. But I shall help you.

Hare:

– And how?

Kolobok:

– Let’s be friends!

Hare:

– Great! I am very glad! But can I feel courageous?

Kolobok:

– Of course! Put your paw on your heart and feel as immense power of love and joy comes to you and a wonderful flower blossoms above your head. If you want to awake this fine flower inside – you just have to ask for it.

Hare:

The flower of love and good, please blossom in my heart and reveal yourself above my head!

(Sounds of music, a rose flower rises above the Hare’s head)

Hare:

– Oh, yes – yes! I feel it.

Kolobok:

– And now let’s draw a rainbow over you.

Hare:

– Big? Seven-color?

Kolobok:

– Yes, this rainbow is your protection. And nobody will be able to offend you again.

Hare:

– Thank you, Kolobok! I am so happy!

(They go together singing a song)

We walk and sing about all good

And our smile is given to passers-by.

If we don’t find the answer in other heart,

We shall go through this trouble.

Scene 4

(There is a Fox, Her head is bandaged with a towel, sings a song of a boastful fox)

Fox:

– Oh -Oh! I have a headache! Oh, my poor head!

Kolobok:

– Is it you, Fox, whose wail is heard all over the forest?

Fox:

– Oh. Yes. I have such a strong headache!

Kolobok:

– Why do you have a headache? You are not old.

Fox:

– Old? But I, I … I am the first beauty of this forest. I am the youngest, the cleverest, the most reasonable, brought up, most – most …

Kolobok (interrupts):

– Well, no wonder that your head aches. The head can ache because of such a high opinion about yourself. Perhaps, you offend others as well?

Fox:

– Certainly, and I even can bite!

Kolobok:

– Then you should say sorry to everyone who you have offended.

Fox:

– Me begging pardons?! I shall not beg any pardons! I shall not!

Kolobok:

– In this case your head will always ache!

Fox:

– Oh, I don’t want to be sick. I would better beg a pardon!

(It addresses the viewers):

Children, forgive me, please, for I have deceived you, offended you. Do you forgive me?

Kolobok:

– And still, Fox, you should forgive yourself. Because when we offend others, we hurt ourselves.

Fox:

– I did not know it! Well, I forgive myself.

Kolobok:

– And now remember, Fox, that the real beauty is inside you, in the depth of your heart. It is like a fine, fragrant flower; it grows and blossoms above your head. If you want to awake this fine flower inside, you just have to ask for it.

Fox:

– The flower of love and good, please blossom in my heart and reveal yourself above my head!

Fox:

– Ah-ah!

(Sounds of music, a rose flower rises above the Fox ‘s head)

Kolobok:

– This flower, growing, contains all the beauty of everything growing on the Earth. And you become a part of the immense blossoming garden. And above your head it is always cloudless and shiny!

Fox:

– That is so easy! That is the enlightenment! It’s like I was born again!

(the Bear and the Hare come)

Fox:

– My friends! All of you are fine! What shining faces!

Bear:

– And you have become prettier!

Hare:

– And you have become kinder!

Kolobok:

– Friends! Look around, where are we?

Fox:

– We have not noticed how we appeared in such an excellent kindergarten among these fine children!

Hare:

– Kids! Do you want to feel this flower of love and good?

Kolobok:

– If you want – you just have to ask this fine flower to awake inside. The flower of love and good, please, blossom in my heart and reveal yourself above my head. Raise your hands above your heads… And you will feel its cool petals.

(music sounds).

All the puppet animals sing a song «Mother’s joy has come in the heart … »

5 thoughts on “A Fairy-tale about Kolobok – script for a puppet-show

  1. Valentina

    What a nice fairy-tale,even better than its original! I am sure that after seeing it all kids will become generous, loving and full of joy. I would like to be a child again.

    JSM !

  2. Shobha.Kotwani

    All the stories are really amazing, very good for children. Every night i print one story and read with my two children before going to bed and then we discuss the moral of each and every story.

  3. Dear sisters, Valentina and Shobha,
    Thank you very much for such sweet comments! It is a pleasure to work
    at this blog – so much innocence and so much wisdom. And it is also a
    pleasure to collect material for it.

Leave a Reply

